Chevy 350 Firing Order - (V8 Small Block & Big Block)

Although working on a four-cylinder vehicle might seem easy, a V8 engine can be overwhelming. The Chevy 350 is an intimidating small block engine if you’ve never worked on one before. The firing order of the Chevy 350 is essential to make sure the engine runs properly.

This article will discuss the importance and consequences of firing order. The firing order of the Chevy small-block Chevy is also covered.

Índice de Contenido
  1. Chevy 350 Firing Order
  2. What's a Firing Order?
  3. Chevy Firing Order

Chevy 350 Firing Order

This is the Chevy 350's small block firing order: 1-8-4-3-5-7-2. This shows that cylinder 1 will start firing first. When the first one finishes, cylinder #8 will take over. This continues on until cylinder #1 completes the ignition sequence. 

Because it's smaller than big blocks, the small block engine has been called an SBC. It’s only 262 to 400 cubic inches versus the big block at 348 to 582 cubic inches. 

Both the big and small block Chevy engines have the same firing order. For either of the engines, firing orders are 1-8-4-3-6-5-2.

How do you find the location of each cylinder? Every manufacturer lays out the cylinders in a way that’s easy to determine. In Chevy 350 models, cylinders are numbered starting at the front of the engine, moving to the back, working from the driver’s side. Number one will be the left-front piston. It is possible to move the engine backwards from left-to-right. You will find any odd numbers to your left while even numbers can be found on your right. 

RELATED: Short Block vs. Long Block Engine (What’s the Difference?)

What's a Firing Order?

The motor’s firing order is the pre-determined sequence that each cylinder gets a spark from the ignition system. This spark causes the ignition of the air-gas mixture. To ensure that the Chevy 350 works correctly, ignition must follow a specific pattern. 

Considering the 350 is a V8 engine, you don’t want to have all eight cylinders firing at the same time. That’s where the timing and proper configuration come into play. One cylinder may be firing while the others are working at a different pace. 

A V8 engine has more than eight cylinders. This means that the firing order is more coordinated. The engine's operation will be smooth and balanced, with minimal vibrations. The engine will last as long possible because it is fired in the correct order. 

A bad firing order can make the ride feel more like a bucking bull. It can’t be smooth unless you have it timed just right. If it isn't checked, the engine can sustain permanent damage. 

Every V8 engine uses a different firing order. Each manufacturer designs its engine for a particular order, which is why it’s critical to know what your motor requires. Thankfully, it’s only eight cylinders laid out in a pattern, making it easy to remember for any future work you do. 

Related: What Does a Car Engine Weight? (Small Engines or Large Engines).

Chevy Firing Order

It’s easy to figure out what the Chevy firing order is because many of them remain the same. The Chevy small block V8 is 1-8-4-3-3-6-5-2. You will find the small blocks 265, 283, 302, 3327, 350, 400 and 327.

The Chevy big-block V8 runs at 1-8-4-3-5-7-2, as well. The engines are the 406, 406, 427, and 454. What’s different is the Chevy LS engine firing order. LS1 through LS7 engines don’t run at the same firing order as the small and big block Chevys. Instead it operates at 1-8-7-2-6-5-4-3

If you aren’t sure of your Chevy engine’s firing order, check the service manual. You don’t want to make any changes to the firing order or you could end up with severe performance issues. 

¡Más Contenido!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Go up